A Spectrum of Emotion

March 5, 2010

I just realised that it is week 4… What happened to just starting UNI??

Our first assignment is due in week 7 – this is not good.

I have an idea for the theme of my gallery.

A gallery of emotions, A Spectrum of Emotion, in fact. I like that. It will be a very simple website, clean, and the photo’s will be the focus. I think I’ll use Happiness, Sadness, Hope, Surprise, Disappointment, Bittersweet, Love, Tired, Confusion and Contentment, and Unknown/Mixed. This list may change.

Damn it. I really need to pee, but I’m in a cafe and I can’t leave all my stuff… And I can’t pack it up because I’ll lose my spot. WHAT A DILEMMA.

I’m a girl. I can hold it.

Ideally, I’d like all of the photo’s to have a similar feel to them. And I’d like them all to be portraits. That may seem obvious, going with the emotional spectrum idea, but landscapes can be emotional too.

And I’m going to attempt to design the site in HTML. After out latest tutorial, I actually think this might be possible. I worked out how to link one HTML page to another without having the words ‘linktext’ on the page. I experimented a bit more, and it looks like I will be able to have links for all the emotions I decide to include, to pages where the relevant photos are. It’s easy – you just have to have the right location for them.

You know what, I could probably even tie in a little bit of psychology into this website. I’m sure there’d be a science of which are ‘basic’ emotions, and which are ‘secondary’ based on brain patterns. I’ll do some research.

This weeks lecture was stuffed full of information. My brain hurt afterwards, but I did take away a few useful ideas, basically about how to make parts of your css relate to only certain parts of your html! There were two ways to do this, one with some sort of ‘ID’, which could only be used once, and the other where you get to make up your own tags (sounds like more fun).

The other part of the lecture was about API’s – and I’m afraid I didn’t take much in. I understand how useful they are, but at this point in time, that’s where my knowledge stops. I’ll probably look some stuff up.

I’m so excited! I can see my webpage in my head. I know exactly how I want it to turn out. I think the next steps are to find the photo’s for the gallery, to research emotion science, and to continue writing the HTML for it.

Leave a Reply

