Two Things.

February 21, 2010

In my last post I was trying to do two things:

1. I was trying to bring awareness to Close The Gap by posting it on my blog.

(Mission accomplished)

2. I was trying to figure out how to post a picture and a website on my blog. This sort of worked, however for some reason the font is different and smaller and I don’t know how to change that. Also, I tried to make the website a link, but somehow made the picture a link instead….

At least there is a link.

I’m usually a journal keeper….well, since 2009. But this blog this has changed the nature and need for that entirely. In my diary I kept everything – personal thoughts, events, work stuff…EVERYTHING. And as I don’t want to publish overly personal things on this blog I am faced with having to split all my ideas and thoughts. There is no point writing idea’s out in two places, so this has become my UNI, work, non-personal area…. and I guess I keep everything else for the journal.

So far I’ve found that I haven’t journalled. I haven’t had time. It’s hard, when you’re on a roll to try and split ideas. To think ‘Oh no, I can’t write that here, that has to go over there’. Sometimes the personal and work ideas are related.

This blogging business is way more complicated than I imagined.

This is a photo I took of my beautiful mother for Intro to Media:

We had to photograph something we knew to be true.

I explored the notion that emotions are true. When you feel them, whether or not you show them, what you’re feeling is a true emotion. It’s real.

I wasn’t sure if I was on the right path, but my alternative was to take a photo of a toaster and say ‘I know this to be a true toaster.’ So I went with my first instinct.

Because it’s easy to portray a false emotion, I picked a person and an emotion that I knew would be real – my mum feels genuine, unedited love for me.

Leave a Reply

